(Replying to PARENT post)
For example, he lists ZocDoc's CAC as in the range $1k to $10k.
If it's $1k then their LTV/CAC = 4.8 (wow good!)
If it's $10k then their LTV/CAC = 0.48 (wow horrid!)
The author chose $3k, seemingly arbitrarily.
There's nothing wrong with arbitrary assumptions in general, but in this case a lot more scrutiny is needed before we judge if its a unicorn or donkey.
(Replying to PARENT post)
The problem too many of these so called unicorns have is that there's not much in the way of real fundamentals supporting their lofty valuations. The valuation is largely based on hype. A lot of these companies valued at $1billion + may realistically only have a value of a few million based on their fundamentals.
In once sense that doesn't matter. If you're an early investor in such a unicorn you only need to convince some sucker to buy your shares while the hype is still hot. However, one needs to be a total fool to not understand that in such a game the music always stops playing at some point and someone is left holding a bag full of worthless $#&!.
The early players in this game have long since cashed out and are on a nice beach somewhere. The challenge for today's 'unicorns' is that they're starting to venture into nightmarish territory for businesses... i.e. massively overvalued without the fundamentals to stop a free fall. The number of recent tech IPOs where shares have plunged 50+% shortly after floating (or were forced into a recent big down round) are a strong sign that the market's tolerance for hype-based valuation is disappearing quickly. For those companies in that boat it's quickly going to become a game of put up or shut up. The solid business will survive but the rest will implode or be sold for pennies on the dollar in a fire sale down the line.
(Replying to PARENT post)
(Replying to PARENT post)
So basically I think it's more valuable to use this as a tool to check if you think a startup can realistically optimize towards the >3 or if that is futile (see how they can influence LTV and CAC respectively) instead of trying to "rank" startups by plugging in LTV/CAC if you're not sure about them.
Interesting read either way.
(Replying to PARENT post)
There is probably a closer, more precise number, but 3 is a decent number to use; if you're looking for businesses that generate a lot of revenue from customers, without spending a lot to acquire them or serve them; it works out.
Otherwise, great article and I will definitely be keeping this in mind in my own project. When I did the math it came out to 8.4, so I've got more wiggle room in the CAC than I thought.
(Replying to PARENT post)
Wouldn't this imply that a company with a lower ratio that is not very capital intensive would have a higher "corrected ratio" than a company which is much more capital intensive (or even simply has a higher cost of capital)?
(Replying to PARENT post)
(Replying to PARENT post)
I mean, say I show up on a farm looking for work and you tell me there is a cart of manure to haul somewhere, and then conditionally tell me that either A) I'll have a donkey to do the job, or B) I'll have a unicorn. Option B sounds more like I'm doing the job by my lonesome.
(Replying to PARENT post)
(Replying to PARENT post)
(Replying to PARENT post)
in their example, 52% margin and a $400 CAC:
LTV/CAC = 0.25 years x $2160/year x 52% / $400 = 0.70x
(Replying to PARENT post)
A lot of the estimates are really bad and completely ignore sensitivities due to assumptions, especially with CAC in the denominator which can have a massive effect when the range of ratios offered in the article is 0 < r < 3.
The difference between a LTV / CAC ratio of 2 and 3 is 50%. If CAC is assumed to be $3000 when the ratio is 2, then it only needs to drop by 33% to $2000 to get the ratio up to 3.
The author appears to consistently guess at CAC and then completely ignore the fact that a slight shift in the right direction would quickly put a company back in unicorn territory.